Graduate Student Awards


Outstanding Teaching Assistant in MEAM

This award is given to the Mechanical Engineering graduate student whose teaching assistant service has been exemplary. Students are chosen to receive this award because of their initiative, reliability, commitment to the students, and their overall contribution to the teaching mission.

Spring 2014: Ruiyuan Ma and Gavin Kenneally
Fall 2013: Luis Guerrero Bonilla
Spring 2013: Justin Thomas
Fall 2012: Rebecca Pierce
Spring 2012: Mehdi Bakhshi Zanjani
Fall 2011: Nicholas Schneider
Spring 2011: Michael Norton and Lichao Pan
Fall 2010: Drew Cheney
Fall 2009: Graham E. Wabiszewski and Qiwei Shi
Spring 2009: Ian Cosden
Fall 2008: Joseph Romano
Spring 2008: Francis Lagor
Fall 2007: Paul White and Neil Zuckerman
Spring 2007: Nathan Michael
Fall 2006: Jack Franklin and Jason Thompson
Spring 2006: Joseph Grogan
Fall 2005: Richard Springman
Spring 2005: Hui Zhao
Fall 2004: Shizhi Qian
Spring 2004: Ani Hsieh
Fall 2003: Andy Perrin
Spring 2003: Heather Lynch
Fall 2002: Alan Rosenwinkel

John A . Goff Award

The John A. Goff Prize for graduate students was established in 1974 by alumni and friends in honor of Dr. John A. Goff, former Dean of the Towne School and Asa Whitney Professor. It is awarded annually to a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics who has been selected by the faculty on the basis of criteria of scholarship, resourcefulness, and leadership. Recipients:

2014: Nicholas Schneider
2013: Matt Turpin
2012: David Argudo
2011: Nora Ayanian
2010: Joseph Grogan
2009: Neil Zuckerman
2008: Richard Springman
2007: Mong-Ying (Ani) Hsieh
2006: Adam Engler
2005: Joshua Lampe
2004: Cark Jannetti
2003: Sung Key Koh
2002: Karthik Mukundakrishnan

MEAM Master's Merit Scholarship
This scholarship is given to first year MEAM master's students who show exceptional promise for research. It has been instituted to foster a spirit for creative thinking among master's students beyond what they learn in courses.

2014: Akshay Ananthakrishnan
2014: Siyao Hu
2014: Chengzhi Qi
External Fellowships

2014: Rebecca Winter
2014: Tarik Tosun
2013: Mickey Whitzer, NSF Fellowship
2013: Monroe Kennedy, NSF Fellowship
2013: David Gagnon, NSF Fellowship
2013: Naomi Fitter, NSF Fellowship
2013: Elizabeth Beattie, NSF Fellowship
2012: Gavin Kenneally: NSERC Scholarship
2012: Monroe Kennedy III: GEM Fellowship
2012: Alison Koser: NSF Fellowship
2012: Shylean Keshwani: Agakhan Foundation International Scholarship
2011: Heather Culbertson: NSF Fellowship
2011: Phillip Dames: DOD NDSEG Fellowship
2011: Rebecca Pierce: NSF Fellowship
2009: Matthew Turpin: NSF Fellowship

Internal awards

2013-2014: Rebecca Pierce, CTL Graduate Fellow for Teaching Excellence
2012: Nicholas Schneider, The Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students

2009-2010: Paul White, CTL Graduate Fellow for Teaching Excellence
2006: Kevin Galloway, The Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students